What is Local Self Government in India? Types of local self-government

Local self-government in India UPSC
There are eight types of urban local governments in India - Municipal Corporation, Municipality, Notified Area Committee, Town Area Committee, Cantonment Board, township, port trust, special purpose agency. At the Central level the subject of 'urban local government' is dealt with by the following three Ministries.

Functions of local self-government in India
Functions of Local Government of India
  • Registration of births and deaths.
  • Supply of pure drinking water.
  • Construction and maintenance of public streets.
  • Lighting and watering of public streets.
  • Cleaning of public streets, places, and sewers.
  • Naming streets and numbering houses.
  • Establishment and maintenance of primary schools.

types of local self-government
Types of Local Self-Government There are mainly two types of local self-government in India. 1. The Village's local self-government and 2. The Municipal self-government.

Who introduced local self-government in India
Lord Ripon was known as the Father of Local self-government. He introduced local self-governance in the year 1882.

local self-government in British India
Lord Ripon is known to have granted the Indians the first taste of freedom by introducing the Local Self Government in 1882. His scheme of local self-government developed the Municipal institutions which had been growing up in the country ever since India was occupied by the British Crown.

What is Local Self Government in India?

Answer : Local self-government means local or regional government. It is a part of the State or national government. It works on those subjects only which are related to the interest of the local people. Local self-government means that residents in towns, villages, and rural settlements are the hosts of their own homes. People elect local councils and their heads authorizing them to solve the most important issues.

It is not always possible for the Central and State Governments to look after the main and urgent necessities and requirements of the different localities under their administration. So Corporations, Municipalities, districts, and Local Boards are established for the maintenance and improvement of cities, towns, districts, and sub-divisions. These are conducted by the local people, and so this system is known as Local Self-Government.

Panchayati Raj Institution (PRI) is a system of rural local self-government in India. PRI was constitutionalized through the 73rd Constitutional Amendment Act, 1992 to build democracy at the grassroots level and was entrusted with the task of rural development in the country.

Local self-government is smaller in size than the state or national government and it administrates the area, village, town, or metropolitan cities. For example, there are Gram Panchayats (Village panchayat) in villages and Municipal corporations in urban areas.

The local self-government is administered or conducted by a body consisting of the representatives of the local people. Part of its total revenue is collected by imposing some taxes locally. And its total income is spending for local development and services. Its services are quite different from the services of the Central or the State governments.

The Local Self-government generally unites the people with democracy and encourages them to participate in its activities without any bias or prejudice. Naturally, it can consolidate the political values and faith of ordinary people and thereby influences the political activities and political culture of the people.

Types of Local Governments

  • Municipalities.
  • Regional Municipalities.
  • Rural Communities (RC)
  • Local Service Districts (LSD)

The administration of a locality is looked after by the officials appointed by the state. Local-self-government: It is an institution of locally elected representatives managing the affairs of the locality and providing them with basic amenities.

Generally speaking, a return to self-government shapes social and economic well-being and can include provisions for:
  • Education.
  • Health care and social services.
  • Police services.
  • Housing.
  • Property rights.
  • Child welfare.
  • Agreements.

The local government is responsible for a range of vital services for people and businesses in defined areas. Among them are well-known functions such as social care, schools, housing and planning, and waste collection, but also lesser known ones such as licensing, business support, registrar services, and pest control.

Previous Post Next Post